Dupré: The American Experience by David Baskeyfield

CD cover Dupré: The American Experience by David Baskeyfield on Acis

David Baskeyfield

Aeolian-Skinner Opus 891 (1932), 891-A (1942)
Revised by Mann & Trupiano, (1988-2002)
Saint Mary the Virgin, Times Square, New York, New York


Dupré: The American Experience

Track listing:
Three Preludes and Fugues, op. 7, Marcel Dupré (1886–1971)
1. Prelude in B major
2. Fugue in B major
3. Prelude in F minor
4. Fugue in F minor
5. Prelude in G minor
6. Fugue in G minor

Second Symphony, op. 26, Dupré
7. Preludio
8. Intermezzo
9. Toccata

10. The Sorcerer’s Apprentice, Paul Dukas (1865–1935), tr. Dupré, (US premiere)

Evocation, op. 37, Dupré
11. Moderato
12. Adagio con tenerezza
13. Allegro deciso


“Marcel Dupré’s intensive performing tours in America from the 1920s onwards prompted his enthusiasm for the developing American organ with it electric actions, standardised consoles and extensive playing aids. This influence manifested itself in his rebuilding of the organ at his home at Meudon, though thankfully not at St Sulpice… On the present disc, British organist David Baskeyfield performs some of Dupré’s fiendish earlier organ works, including the op.7 Preludes & Fugues, Second Symphony and Evocation on the blazing Aeolian-Skinner at ‘Smoky Mary’s’ in New York City. With G. Donald Harrison in the early days of creating the ‘American Classic’, and subsequent expansion of the concept, this organ, with its slightly French-sounding reeds, is very appropriate for Dupre’s scores. Baskeyfield, first prize-winner at numerous international competitions, is entirely unfazed by the technical challenges and plays with both astounding virtuosity and musicality. An interesting inclusion is Dupré’s devilish transcription of Dukas’ The Sorcerer’s Apprentice, discovered in manuscript in the papers of Rolande Falcinelli. Baskeyfield’s outstanding notes about both music and organ are, unfortunately, printed uncomfortably small.
CHRIS BRAGG, Choir & Organ, May/June 2019, 4 Stars

Amazon | iTunes | CD Baby mp3 | David Baskeyfield | Printable cover | Specification