Category : isabelle demers, the new and the old, l’ancien et le nouveau

07 Mar 2011
25 Nov 2010

C&O 4 Stars

Choir & Organ awards 4 stars This CD’s title ‘The Old and the New’ reflects Isabelle Demers’s intention of making full use of the colouristic possibilities of modern organs such as the 1995 IV/67 Marcussen at Tonbridge School. In Bach’s D Major Prelude & Fugue BWV 532 there are enough stop changes to upset the purists, but Demers’s supreme musicianship makes her performance thoroughly convincing. She’s equally accomplished in her stunning arrangement of Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet and her virtuosic […]

18 Oct 2010

New artist website

Organist Isabelle Demers has recently completed her second recording session with Acis, of works by Canadian composer Rachel Laurin. Release date: Spring 2011. Acis is developing a new website for Isabelle Demers, “Isabelle Demers dot Organ” at www.isabelledemers.org Facebook users can visit her fanpage here.

05 Sep 2010


Michael Barone, presenter of Pipedreams for American Public Media featured the Fugue from Reger’s Op. 73 (CD: the new and the old) on his September 6, 2010 program. Barone identified organist Isabelle Demers as, “definitely a talent to watch, to hear…” “a masterful score, here masterfully played…”

05 Sep 2010

CMQ Recommends…

CMQ, the quarterly publication by the Royal School of Church Music, awards the new and the old its highest *** rating, and recommends it as CD of the month: THE NEW AND THE OLD Isabelle Demers plays the 1995 Marcussen organ of Tonbridge School · Acis (for availability see www.acisproductions.com) ‘Isabelle Demers at the organ is a force of nature – a diminutive dynamo . . .’ So proclaim the sleeve notes of this highly engaging disc. Recorded on the […]

05 Sep 2010

Fanfare Magazine Reviews

Critical Acclaim for the new and the old: The instrument serves Demers and her repertoire well, projecting the Reger in particular with great clarity. Acis’s recorded sound is superb. Carson Cooman, Fanfare Magazine if you’re looking for an organ disc to rattle the rafters and shake the floor boards, this one should do quite nicely…Demers’s judicious choice of stops and her exceptionally clean voicing, aided by Acis’s clear, tightly focused recording, make for very satisfying modern Bach played in the […]

02 Jul 2010

Rachel Laurin Download

A new digital release of Étude héroïque, op. 38 by Canadian composer Rachel Laurin, is now available for download, performed by Isabelle Demers. Rachel Laurin is a featured composer at the National Convention of the American Guild of Organists in Washington, D.C. in July 2010. Her work, Fantasy for harp and organ, Op.52, will receive its premiere at the Convention. She is an Associate Composer of the Canadian Music Centre, member of the “Ottawa New Music Creators” and has composed […]

14 May 2010

North American Distribution

Acis is proud to announce a distribution deal for our titles through Albany Music. The new and the old featuring organist Isabelle Demers, will be available from Albany and arkivmusic.com from August 2010.

13 May 2010

iTunes release

the new and the old – l’ancien et le nouveau, is now available on iTunes.

10 May 2010

download now available

the new and the old – l’ancien et le nouveau is now available for single track and whole album digital download. Delivery to iTunes is anticipated shortly.