Britten & Finzi Song Cycles

CD cover Vale Rideout Britten and Finzi - on Acis

Vale Ridout and Caleb Harris

The Holy Sonnets of John Donne, for voice & piano, Op. 35, Benjamin Britten

1. O my blacke Soule
2. Batter my heart
3. O might those sighes and teares
4. Oh, to vex me
5. What if this present
6. Since she whom I loved
7. At the round earth’s imagined corners
8. Thou hast made me
9. Death, be not proud

A Young Man’s Exhortation, songs for tenor & piano, Op.14, Gerald Finzi

10. A Young Man’s Exhortation
11. Ditty
12. Budmouth Dears
13. Her Temple
14. The Comet at Yell’ham
15. Shortening Days
16. The Sigh
17. Former Beauties
18. Transformations
19. The Dance Continued


“gripping performances…powerful…His beautifully placed voice has substance and warmth; it is both vigorous and sweet…With absolutely lucid enunciation of words and strong feeling for the texts, his reading grabbed hold of me more than any I’ve heard…powerful…exquisite…The contrasting dynamics in his singing of all these songs brings out their drama magisterially.”

“…a fine and discreet reading (of the Finzi) that captures well the bittersweet tone….These are strong and excellent readings of both cycles. Rideout shows virility in the more declamatory Britten songs, and there is a well chosen nostalgic tone in the Finzi songs. A real strength of his singing is a masterly management of dynamic contrasts…”

“Harris holds his own admirably and…deftly…”

R. MOORE, American Record Guide, May/June 2016

Amazon | Amazon mp3 | CD Baby mp3 | iTunes | Vale Rideout | Caleb Harris
Printable Cover | Printable Back Cover | Press Release | Full Bio | #traxtuesday on YouTube